Heart Shaped Stone

a one year old baby Catholic with a Rosary and she's not afraid to use it

Why I believe March 17, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — Kortni @ 8:39 pm

I read an articleand ran across this quote from Pope Benedict:

“Lent and the cross exist ‘because evil exists.'”

How do you know – I mean, beyond a shadow of a doubt know – that God exists?

I think this question is answered in a very personal way for everyone. One of my friends was in the last week of RCIA before Easter and was doubting if this is the road she was supposed to be on when the director read a verse aloud that completely spoke to what she was thinking and feeling at that moment. My best friend sees things at communion that only she can see. I’m sure you have a story too.

In a nutshell, I know God is real because I know that evil is real. Hearing about the evil that goes on in the world is one thing. We’re removed from it. Sometimes it hits home. Sometimes it hits hard, and it makes you angry and makes you want God to answer for why this happened. How could God allow such horrific things to happen to us? Depending on how you handle it, this could shake your faith or make it stronger.

And then there are those of us who have been face to face – quite literally – with evil. If I were able to, I could tell you stories that would make the hair on the back of your neck stand on end. It is real, and it is a predator in more ways than one. It is terrifying to battle face to face.

God exists because the cross exists, and the story of that battle between good and evil has already been written. God wins. Period. Evil feeds on fear, anxiety, and sin; what need I fear knowing my Jesus gives hope, peace, and forgiveness? -And- he has already won not only the battle of the moment, but the battle for eternity?

How beautiful is that story of salvation and the conquering over evil, and how often we neglect to realize just how incredible it really is. Really. Having seen the darkness, the light is astounding.

All things happen for a reason, whether we can see it or not. Facing evil, instead of shaking and destroying my faith like it wanted to, made me realize that God is sovereign. He reigns. He wins. I have no reason to fear with him as my God. I am a warrior for him and the kingdom, and I am humbled to be as much. I pray that I have the faith that I need when I’m called into battle.

God is real and evil is real, and I belong to God.

 

One Response to “Why I believe”

  1. Wow, awesome reflection! You sound like you really have faith.

    God bless!


Leave a Reply

