Heart Shaped Stone

a one year old baby Catholic with a Rosary and she's not afraid to use it

We all forgot to kneel. March 27, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — Kortni @ 2:16 pm

It’s the third Sunday of Lent. I’m sure most, if not all, of my soon-to-be-Catholic sisters and brothers celebrated the first scrutiny today at mass. I’m not really sure why we didn’t, to be honest, but we learned at RCIA on Thursday that ours will start this coming Sunday. And today, like this whole week, was a little different.

We had a guest priest today, from Caritas for Children. Mass was as usual (I always get chills when prayers for those coming into the Church are mentioned – anybody else?) except there was a little more talking, more explaining, more movement than usual. He joined us in the sign of peace, which got my attention. And then something very strange happened as we celebrated the Eucharist.

First of all, I’m not sure if I’m even supposed to be there for the Liturgy of the Eucharist, but nobody has told us otherwise, so we stay. But today, following “grant us your peace,”…. the entire church forgot to kneel.

I still can’t figure out quite what happened, thinking maybe we missed a cue or something that we’re used to, but I wasn’t the only one left standing. We all were. Something – someone – powerful was in the room with us. A strange silence settled over the church and it honestly seemed like everyone, myself included, was simply so captivated at the presence of Jesus with us that we quite honestly forgot to move. I realized what had happened a few seconds later and looked over to my friend, who didn’t move or say a word. A few people around us knelt down and we did as well, trying not to make any sudden moves. Not like anyone was looking at us anyway.

It was like time stopped and everyone was made aware of that at the exact same instant.

I don’t have an explanation. I don’t know how it happened or why, but it did. It just simply happened.

 

2 Responses to “We all forgot to kneel.”

  1. vitaconsecrata Says:

    What an experience!
    I know that the candidates for RCIA in my church leave for the Liturgy of the Eucharist. We only have one this year though.😦

  2. Elizabeth Says:

    Yes, I do get chills at that point!

    That is really interesting! Sometimes we get wrapped up in the routine, it’s powerful to witness when we get knocked off the routine a little.


Leave a Reply

