Heart Shaped Stone

a one year old baby Catholic with a Rosary and she's not afraid to use it

One week old. May 1, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — Kortni @ 1:16 am

I am a week old now.

I love the sunshine. I love how warm it feels.

I love to listen to the wind in the trees.

I love the stars in the sky. I know who made them. He made me, too.

I love going outside with my Daddy and looking at all the pretty wildflowers. Tomorrow we’re going to plant sunflowers. We might blow bubbles and draw on the sidewalk if it doesn’t rain.

It needs to rain.

Jesus and Sasha and I took a walk this morning, down to the turn in the road. After going through the trees, suddenly there’s a field. He wanted me to see it. I call it the heaven field because that must be at least part of what heaven feels like when you see it. Endless.

I want to go barefoot around the house and outside a lot this summer. No more afraid of getting dirty.

I get hungry a lot, but I don’t eat much at a time.

I’ve been sleeping better, but I still wake up in the middle of the night.

I ask a lot of questions. What is that? What does it mean? My Daddy chuckles and tells me to ask my friends.

I told him I wanted to learn Hebrew. Because I’m crazy. I started learning some of it years ago, when I was in a Bible class and thought the Jews were onto something. He told me to look up the alphabet and see how much I could remember. I said I recognized aleph and that was about it.

Then I discovered the eerie similarities between the Hebrew and Aramaic alphabet.

You have my full attention now, Dad. I want to learn to write this.

Go for it, he says with a smile. Maybe this will keep me busy. Or maybe there’s something more to it than that. It amuses him. All I know is I want to be able to write it in the sand. I don’t quite know why.

I’m hungry. I’m tired.

It’s time for bed.

 

3 Responses to “One week old.”

  1. Br. Charles Says:

    Beautiful. Though I’m almost nineteen years old by this reckoning, you help me to remember some of the gentle graces God showers on his neophytes. Amen.

  2. Brit Clare Says:

    Love this. Who are you? Where are you from? I just joined the church on Thursday due to having to go home for Easter. Happy to be sisters.🙂

    God bless.

  3. vitaconsecrata Says:

    You are a week and a half now. I’m a little slow in reading – but I’m still just as amazed at your journey. Every day is a new gift and a new step towards even deeper union with our Father and Brother and Mother in heaven!


Leave a Reply

